Amherst Little League concludes season with awards banquet

Lions recognized for A system regular season, playoff championships

Published on September 11, 2017

The Amherst Little League presented awards to players and teams from its A system teams during its closing banquet on Sunday, Sept. 10. Earning awards were: (front, from left) Burke Beed, Kyler Edwards, Brayden Stevens, Declan LeBlanc, (back, from left) Thane McAloney, Sawyer Harvey, Reese MacDonald, Mandel Nickerson, Evan Legere, Riley MacDonald and Ethan Sherriff.

©Darrell Cole - Amherst News

The Amherst Little League presented awards to players and teams from its B system teams during its closing banquet on Sunday, Sept. 10. Earning awards were: (front, from left) Kenzie Crossman, Logan Boudreau, Riley Larade, Austin Murray, (back, from left) Jenna Siddall, Kylie Siddall, Holly Hamilton, Ryan Oderkirk, Darcy Myers, Aidan McAloney and Camden Remington.

©Darrell Cole - Amherst News

AMHERST – It was a big night for the Lions as the club was honoured for winning the Amherst Little League regular season pennant and playoff championship while several of its members earned individual award during the league’s closing banquet on Sunday.

Reese MacDonald earned the Bob Edgett Trophy as most improved player in the A system while Kyler Edwards was presented the Red Stuart Memorial Trophy as top batter with a .595 batting average.
Reese MacDonald of the Lions and Mandel Nickerson of the Mixers shared the Stacey Tower Memorial Trophy as most valuable player in the playoffs while Burke Beed of the pennant and playoff runners-up Mixers was named top pitcher in the A system, winning the Barton Remington Memorial Trophy.
The Hurley Memorial Trophy, presented to the rookie of the year, was presented to Sawyer Harvey of the Carter’s Cresting Cubs and Riley MacDonald of the Mixers earned the Jim MacDonald Memorial Trophy as the player best exemplifying sportsmanship and dedication.
Ethan Sherriff of the Mixers was presented the Louise Burbine Trophy as the player best showing sportsmanship and playing ability and Brayden Stevens of the Y’s Guys capped off his little league career by winning the Hec MacDonald Memorial Trophy as the most valuable player in the A system.
The Nick Merrill and Corey Bates League Appreciation Award was presented to Diana Legere and Tammy Stevens for their work scorekeeping A system games.
Representatives from the Bates-Merrill foundation were also on hand to present a $1,000 donation to little league.
The Bonnie Quinn Trophy, presented annually to the top female player in either A or B, was presented to Jenna Siddall of the Sobeys B system team.
In the B system, the Raymond Gilroy Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship and dedication was presented to Austin Murray of Sobeys while the Doug Ogden Trophy as most improved player was presented to Riley Larade of Sobeys.
The Local 1233 Town of Amherst Employees Trophy was presented to Camden Remington of George’s Family Mowing as the player best demonstrating sportsmanship and playing ability. Aidan McAloney of George’s Family Mowing received the Byron Curry Memorial Trophy as MVP in the B system.
The David Maltby Memorial Trophy as B system pennant winners was presented to the Jr. Y’s Guys and Sobeys was presented the Lorne Hunter Memorial Trophy as B system playoff champions.
The Lions received the Amherst News Trophy as A system pennant winners as the M.J. Kaufman Memorial Trophy as playoff champions. The Mixers earned the Carter’s Cresting Trophy as regular season runners-up and the Local 6874 Steelworkers of America Trophy as playoff runners-up. The Carter’s Cresting Cubs earned the Reg Laurette Memorial Trophy as the playoff consolation winners.
Darcy Myers was most improved and Ryan Oderkirk most sportsmanlike on the George’s Family Mowing team, Riley Larade was most improved and Kenzie Crossman most sportsmanlike on Harrisons, Declan O’Blenis was most improved and Jenna Siddall most sportsmanlike on Sobeys and Logan Boudreau was most improved and Kylie Siddall most sportsmanlike on the Jr. Y’s Guys.
Holly Hamilton was presented with a league appreciation award for her volunteer work over the summer as coach of Harrisons and her support of both the A and B systems.
A system MVPs included Ryder Codling and Brayden Stevens for the Y’s Guys, Kieran Sears for the Carter’s Cresting Cubs, Burke Beed for the Mixers and Declan LeBlanc and Evan Legere for the Lions.
Players were also presented gold and silver baseballs for volunteer work at the field. Gold ball recipients were Mandel Nickerson, Brayden Stevens, Ethan Sherriff and Camden Remington while silver ball recipients were Brady Gill, Thane McAloney, Burke Beed, Mason Sloan and Kieran Sears.

Kathy Lake and Ron Lake of the Bates Merrill Society and Amherst Little League president Gerry Cormier in presenting the Nick Merrill-Corey Bates League Appreciation Award to Diana Legere and Tammy Stevens.

©Darrell Cole - Amherst News