Dorn, Hicks top senior athletes at Oxford Regional Education Centre

Mattinson, Rushon win junior athlete awards

Published on June 13, 2014
The Oxford Regional Education Centre honoured its top student athletes at its annual awards banquet at the school. Earning major awards included: (from left) Taylor Mattinson, junior female; Andrea Dorn, senior female; Colby Hicks, senior male; and Alex Rushton, junior male.
Charlie Weeks – The Oxford Journal

Andrea Dorn and Colby Hicks were among the biggest winners when Oxford Regional Education Centre handed outs its student athlete awards.

OXFORD – It was a big night for student athletes at Oxford Regional Education Centre as the school handed out awards to its top athletes in various sports.

Andrea Dorn received the Al and Beth Hart Trophy, given to a student/athlete who exemplifies excellence in athletics, acceptable academics, volunteer experience and coaching in a school or community setting.

Dorn would also be named the school senior female athlete of the year while Colby Hicks was the top senior male athlete and was named the winner of the OREC Legacy Award.

Hicks and Dorn would share the NSSF Exemplary Participation Award.

Taylor Mattinson was named top junior female athlete and Alex Rushton the top male junior athlete.

Regan Swan was awarded the Betty Rector Memorial Trophy, while Jonah Chapman and Katy Reid were honoured with the Ron O’Flarety Scholar-Athlete Award.

The Track and Field 3D Award has been renamed the Grant MacDonald 3D Award in honour of the late Mr. MacDonald’s 13-years as a volunteer running coach.

The track and field section of this year’s yearbook has been dedicated in MacDonald’s memory. The recipient of this new award is Clifford Lambert.

The following athletes received one of three major awards in each sports team: Most Outstanding Player (MOP), Most Improved Player (MIP) and 3D Award (determination, desire and dedication).

Junior Girls Soccer: Mackenzie Mattinson, (MOP); Jessica Broughm, MIP; Bethany Warwick 3D.

Junior Boys Soccer: Alex Rushton, MOP; Tiarnan Whalen, MIP; Charlie Nix, 3D.

Senior Girls Soccer: Andrea Dorn, MOP; Haillie Tattrie, MIP; Katy Reid, 3D.

Senior Boys Soccer: Colby Hicks, MOP; Spencer Richard, MIP’ Landon Stewart, 3D.

Cross Country: Sara Macdonald, junior 3D; Marcie Mattinson, junior MIP; Damien Estabrooks, senior MIP.

Junior Girls Basketball: Bethany Warwick, MOP; Keyonna Stevens, MIP; Mackenzie Mattinson, 3D.

Junior B Girls Basketball: Lydia Wood, MOP; Katelyn Colbourne, MIP; Cassandra Cotton, 3D.

Junior Boys Basketball: Alex Rushton, MOP; Caleb Johnson and Tiarnan Whalen, MIP; Charlie Nix, 3D.

Senior Girls Basketball: Regan Swan, Betty Rector Memorial for MOP; Megan Thompson, MIP; Ashley O’Brien, 3D. Ashley was also recognized for scoring her 1,000th basketball point.

Senior Boys Basketball: Colby Hicks, Legacy Award for MOP. Also recognized for scoring his 1,000 basketball point; Clifford Lambert, MIP; James Black, 3D.

Ski Team: Jeff Macdonald, MOP. Also recognized as the NSSAF Junior boys downhill skiing provincial champion; Keegan Stewart, MIP; Sara Macdonald, 3D.

Badminton: Jeff Macdonald, MIP; Jackson Black, MIP; Andrea Dorn, MOP; Katherine Williams, 3D.

Track and Field: Taylor Mattinson, junior girl, MOP and recognized for NSSAF provincial gold medalist in jr. girls 400m dash and 200m dash; Jeff Macdonald, junior boys, MOP; Kathryn Hickman, int. girl, MOP; Alex Rushton, int. boy, MOP; Morgan Bishop, sr. girl, MOP; James Black, sr. boy, MOP; Clifford Lambert Grant MacDonald 3D Award; Courtney Patriquin MIP.

Girls Softball: Katy Reid, MOP; Katherine Williams, MIP; Andrea Dorn, 3D.

Outstanding Contribution to OREC Athletics: Sidney Oickle and Clifford Lambert.

The following coaches received recognition: Nina Hoffman, cross country; Margaret Mattinson, junior girls soccer; Michelle Deane, junior B girls basketball; Mike Hudson and Dylan Ellis, junior boys basketball; Kenny Black, John Richard, Cody Black, senior boys basketball; Peter Swan, senior girls basketball; Shannon Clack, badminton; Megan Wood and Emily Rushton, track and field; Tammy Casey, senior girls softball.