River Hebert packs curling club for RHDHS awards banquet

Dave Mathieson webcomments@ngnews.ca
Published on June 11, 2014

RIVER HEBERT – River Hebert might be a small school but it has a big heart when it comes to athletic and academic achievement.

“A lot of time we compete against school’s which are three times our size and sometimes we compete against schools with more than 1.500 students,” said Andrew Doucette, teacher at River Hebert High School and, also, the Northumberland Assistant Regional Director for the Nova Scotia School Athletic Federation. “Our students just don’t participate, they compete, so I really want to thank our athletes for making our sports enjoyable.”

RHDH has 49 students in Grades 10 to 12, and 25 of those students participate in their eight athletic teams and one academic team.

RHDH is an NSSAF Division 4 school, and student in Grades 10 to 12 who participate in sporting and academic excellence were recognized Tuesday night during their 36th annual awards banquet at the Brookside Curling Club in River Hebert.

About 120 parents, friends and family of the students packed into the curling club for the awards ceremony.

Doucette thanked Jessica White for coordinating the event, and thanked the sponsors, the volunteers and the coaches who helped throughout the school year.

“And soccer tryouts are in 12 weeks, so get ready,” said Doucette with a laugh.

Award recipients include the following:


Morgan Brine – Senior High School Student of the Year

Sally Belliveau – Junior High School Student of the Year


Daniel Buboire – Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Summer-Joy Upshaw – Senior Female Athlete of the Year

Jarrett Burbine – Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Emily Hoeg – Junior Female Athlete of the Year


Jacqlyn McIver – Joggins Fossil Cliffs Excellence Award

Zach Creese – Jason Edwards Memorial Award

Summer-Joy Upshaw – Patti Brown Memorial Award

Lane Glennie – Chris Dowe Memorial Award

Joanne Buboire – Tanya Proctor Memorial Award

Breanna Cormier – Marie LeBlanc-Damery Memorial Award

Morgan Brine – Betty LeBlanc Memorial Award

Kurtis Langille – Bliss Terrio Memorial Award

Morgan Lucci-Vane – Timmy O’Brien Memorial Award

Connor Hurley – Barry Anderson Award

Taylor Brundage – Jim Morris Memorial Award

Avery Beaton – Award in memory of Cheryl Marie Rhodes

Sally Belliveau – NSSAF Good Sport Award

Emily Hoeg – NSSAF Good Sport Award