Springhill celebrates school athletes

Christopher Gooding cgooding@citizenrecord.ca
Published on June 13, 2013
Multi-talented athlete Justine Brown (right) received awards in soccer, which she received from coach and school vice principal Marilyn Bruce, and softball during Springhill Jr. Sr. High School’s sports awards ceremony Wednesday, June 12.
Christopher Gooding

SPRINGHILL – Another year of athletic excellence came to a close at Springhill High Wednesday evening, during the school’s annual sports award ceremony.

The students generated a lot of pride and prestige for the school, teacher and Nova Scotia School Athletic Federation member Phil Scott, who retires this year from the NSSAF, said.

“I don’t think there are too many schools that can boast three of their four basketball teams [junior boys, junior girls, senior boys, senior girls] have medals this year,” Scott said.

SHS has a legacy of doing well in basketball, but the school is developing a reputation in many other sports, Kerry Cullihall said.

“We have 90 athletes in our school. Last year 14 of them were multi-level athletes. This year it’s grown to 27,” Cullhihal said.


Top Honours

Junior Female Athlete of the Year – Casie Skidmore

Junior Male Athlete of the Year – Chesley Harrison

Senior Female Athlete of the Year – Sydnee Balser

Senior Male Athlete of the Year – Darien King

NSSAF Fairplay Award - Erika Scott & Chris Beaton

NSSAF Participation Award - Juliana Alick & Cody Rector


Award winners:


Cross Country

X Country Award - Holly Scott



Junior Girls

MVP - Casie Skidmore

MVP - Justine Brown

MIP - Erika Scott

Rookie of the Year - Chelsea Atkinson


Junior Boys

MVP- Chad Miller

Most Dedicated - Chris Beaton

Rookie of the Year - Kyler Hibberts

Most Improved - Dan King


Senior Girls

MVP - Anna Moore

MIP - Faith Schiefer

MDP - Jessica Harroun


Senior Boys

MVP - Kyle MacDonald

MIP - Jonathon Wood

MDP - Darien King



Jr Girls

MVP - Kylee Balser

MIP - Chelsea Atkinson

3D - Shelby Beaton


Jr Boys

MVP - Nate Chute

MIP - Connor MacDonald

Most Dedicated - Matt Crowe


Sr Girls

MVP - Sydnee Balser

Coach’s Award - Stephanie McCormick

MIP - Brianna Smith

Rookie of the Year - Casie Skidmore


Sr Boys

MVP - Brandon Clarke

MVP - Brandan Doucet

3D - Darien King

MIP - Cody Rector




Gold Glove - Anna Moore

Silver Slugger - Britany Arsenault

Coach’s Award - Justine Brown

MIP - Mallory Thompson



Gold Glove - Nick Hunter

Silver Slugger - Nick Hunter

Leadership Award - Cody Rector

Leadership Award - Forrest Gallagher



Snowboarding Award - Luke Jackson


Table Tennis

2013 Boys Award- Nate Chute

2013 Girls Award- Maria McCormick



Carter Award - Kier Hibberts


Track and Field

Senior Award –Kyle MacDonald

Intermediate Award - Tori Harrison

Junior Award -  Emma Stadler



2013 Award – Connor MacDonald