Forty-four graduates receive diplomas in Parrsboro

Valedictorian tells classmates to follow their own paths

Andrew Wagstaff
Published on June 27, 2014

PARRSBORO – Another group of students left Parrsboro Regional High School behind on June 27, as 44 students received their diplomas in front of a jam-packed crowd in the school gymnasium.

In an entertaining address that even included theme music, valedictorian Jessica Johnson told her fellow graduates to follow their own paths, and not make choices based on their friends, boyfriends, girlfriends or parents.

 “As a grad, life has been filled with happiness, excitement, and, of course, stress, but overall life has been good,” she said. “Over the next course of our lives, I want us to find our place in life and make the most out of it.”

It was a big night for Johnson, who picked up multiple awards, including the Queen Elizabeth II Medal and the Governor General’s Academic Medal, as well as a $3,000 entrance scholarship to Dalhousie University.

When writing her speech, she said the quote, “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened,” appealed to her.

“When I think about all the memories that my class has developed over the years, I want to smile for months, I want to smile for the whole summer,” she said. “But at the end of the summer, I have to go to university, so the smile may wear off…”

Receiving Honours with Distinction upon graduation this year were Jessica Johnson, Phoenix Bard-Cavers, Rhianna Goguen, Maddison Currie, and Wyatt Meldrum.

Graduating with Honours were Gerald Boutilier, Brooke Spears, Katie Brewer and Kirsten Willigar.

Also graduating from Parrsboro Regional High School this year were: Kiera Fullerton, Jordyn Cormier, Emily Hazel, Lauren Shay, Paige Oliveira, April Brill, Kennedy Hutchinson, Alexandria Jeffers, Wendi Morrisey-Roberts, Natasha Tanner, Marissa Redmond, Jacob Guilderson, Crystal Yorke, Nicholas Campbell, Liam Matthews, Bruce Forbes, Morgan Flecknell, Nicholas Warren, Timothy Copp, Audriana Smith, Andrew Fife, Joshua Foster, Joshua McCulley, William Eagles, Michael Johnson, Tristan Matthews, Joshua Goodwin, Chad Hunt, Jeremy Gouchie, Brent McCarthy, Jamie Benjamin, Christopher Meyers, Luke Gillis, Patrick Quinn, and Mickayla Davis.

Phoenix Bard-Cavers also had a big night of scholarships and awards, including $10,000 ($2,500 per year) from the Pengrowth-Nova Scotia Energy Scholarship, and $7,000 in scholarships for Universite de Moncton.

Other scholarships were presented to Kennedy Hutchinson – Tourism Nova – Walter H. Johnson Jr. Gold Tourism Scholarship ($1,250 plus renewable $750 second year depending on academic performance); Rhianna Goguen – Dalhousie University Entrance Scholarship ($3,000) and Dalhousie Entrance Renewable Bursary ($5,600); Jerry Boutilier – Governor Thomas Carleton Scholarship, UNB ($1,000); Kiera Fullerton – Community College/Trade School Award ($1,800); and Josh Goodwin – NSCC Entrance Award for Tuition ($3,040).

Twitter: @ADNandrew