Springhill camp kids

Published on June 16, 2014

The 14th Annual Diana Maddison Memorial Scholarship Camp Award has four-more names to celebrate. (Back, from left) Hayden Ferdinand, Brittany Chapman (front) Tyler Lovell and Angel Crowe are this year’s recipients and will attend Camp Pagweak this summer.


Submitted photo

SPRINGHILL – Four more Springhill elementary students will enjoy the experience of going to camp, thanks to the 14th Annual Diana Maddison Memorial Scholarship Camp Award.

Diana Maddison, who passed away on May 10, 2000, began her teaching career in our Springhill Elementary Schools. Diana spent more than 30 years teaching her beloved students. Diana’s husband, James (Spike) Maddison who passed away in February 2014, has touched the lives of many families by ensuring that over 80 students attended camp in Diana’s memory.

This kindness and devotion to children will continue as James Maddison’s estate has established a trust for the camp awards.

In his passing, his niece and Springhill elementary school’s Principal Sheila Maddison-Alick presented four elementary school students with a Summer Camp Award on James and Diana’s behalf.

This process was difficult for me this year, as my uncle passed away in February,” Maddison-Alick said.  “He always looked forward to seeing the picture in the paper and over the years every child wrote him a letter after attending camp, which he kept, and re-read those letters. He was such a kind and caring individual. It definitely is not the same selecting the students without him, but seeing the smiles on the faces of the children when they are told they are going to camp reminds me of why he was so proud to do this for the kids.”

Maddison-Alick selected Camp Pagweak as the summer camp destination for students in Grades 5 & 6. This year’s recipients Hayden Ferdinand, Brittany Chapman, Tyler Lovell and Angel Crowe.