Springhill awards police officers for long service

Andrew Wagstaff awagstaff@citizenrecord.ca
Published on June 6, 2011
Several Springhill officers received exemplary service medals during a recent town council meeting. On hand for the presentation were (from left) Springhill Police Commission chairman John Alderson, acting chief Dean Ruddick, Robin Gilroy, Doug Williams and Paul MacDonald. Andrew Wagstaff - The Citizen-Record

SPRINGHILL – For three decades they have patrolled the streets of this town, and, at its most recent council meeting, the town said thanks.

Acting chief Dean Ruddick, along with officers Robin Gilroy, Paul MacDonald and Doug Williams, received exemplary service medals and certificates recognizing 30 years of service to the Springhill Police Department at the June 1 council meeting. Officers Kent Matthews and Rick Stonehouse have also received the medal, but were unable to be present at the town hall meeting.

Mayor Allen Dill presented Ruddick with his medal, and then Ruddick and Springhill Police Commission chairman John Alderson together presented the medals to the other three officers. The medals had previously been presented by Lt.-Gov. Mayann Francis at Government House in Halifax, but Ruddick was unable to attend that presentation.

(For the full story, see the June 9 issue of The Citizen-Record)