Honouring achievement at RHDH

Darrell Cole
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Honouring achievement at RHDH

River Hebert -

It was a night to shine for students at River Hebert District High with the school's top students and athletes being honoured for their achievements in the classroom and on the playing fields.

Rebecca LeBlanc was named the school's senior female athlete of the year while Blaine McIver was named the senior male athlete of the year. Rebecca Beardsley was named the junior female athlete of the year and also won the junior high student of the year while Peter Beaton claimed the junior male athlete of the year award.
Jacquelyn Lee was named the school's senior high student of the year.
The school also handed out 11 special awards in honour of academic and athletic achievement with Breanna Clinton winning the Joggins Fossil Cliffs Excellence Award for outstanding achievement in high school science and Rebecca LeBlanc earning the Jason Edwards Memorial present to a student for his or her love of the game, competition and spirit.
Morgan Jennings was presented the Patti Brown Memorial Award for sportsmanship, team spirit and enthusiasm as well as the Betty LeBlanc Memorial Award as most valuable pitcher on the girl's softball team.
Paul Mawdsley received the Chris Dowe Memorial Award for leadership, likeability, dedication and coachabilty while Jacquelyn Lee accepted the Tanya Proctor Memorial Award as most sportsmanlike player on the senior girl's soccer team.
Becky LeBlanc won the Marie LeBlanc-Damery Memorial Award as best infielder on the senior girls softball team, Dakota Melanson received the Bliss Terrio Memorial as most improved athlete of the year, David Quinn earned the Timmy O'Brien Memorial Award as the player showing the most sportsmanship, team spirit and enthusiasm and Brad Morrison won the Barry Anderson Award for his contribution to school athletics.
NSSAF Good Sport awards were presented to Brandon McLellan and Amanda Mollon.
The ceremony also saw an NSSAF Award of Distinction presented to longtime coach Rick Rhodes.
Award winners this year include:
Junior Boys Soccer: rookie of the year - Connor Hurley; most improved player - Daniel Buboire; most valuable player - Earl Dwyer and Dakota Daly.
Junior Girls Soccer: rookie of the year - Jessica Burbine; most improved player - Meghan McLellan; most valuable player - Rebecca Beardsley and Lacey White.
Senior Girls Soccer: rookie of the year - Jessica Burbine; coaches award - Jessica Carmichael; most sportsmanlike - Michelle Eagles; most improved player - Melissa McLellan; most valuable player - Michaila Hoeg and Becky LeBlanc.
Senior Boys Soccer: rookie of the year - Anthony Buckland; coaches award - Paul Mawdsley and Dustin Hoeg; most sportsmanlike - Scott Cameron; most improved player - Luke Boudreau; most valuable player - Blaine McIver.
Senior Girls Basketball: rookie of the year - Jessica Burbine; most sportsmanlike - Morgan Jennings; most improved player - Rebecca Beardsley; most valuable player - Becky LeBlanc.
Track and field: coaches award - Brandon McLellan.
Girls Softball: rookie of the year - Jessica Burbine; most sportsmanlike - Michaila Hoeg and Danielle Patterson; most improved player - Rebecca Beardsley and Lacey White; most valuable player - Becky LeBlanc and Morgan Jennings.
Boys Softball: rookie of the year - Alan LeBlanc; coaches award - Eric MacKinnon; most sportsmanlike - Dustin Hoeg; most improved player - David Quinn; most valuable player - Luke Boudreau.
Social Awards
Junior Citizenship Award - Rebecca Beardsley
Senior Citizenship Award - Michaila Hoeg
Student Volunteer Award - Michaila Hoeg and Rebecca LeBlanc
Academic Awards
Most Improved Student (Grade 7) - Alan LeBlanc
Most Improved Student (Grade 8) - Paulie Willigar
Most Improved Student (Grade 9) - Earl Dwyer
Most Improved Student (Grade 10) - Brett McEown
Most Improved Student (Grade 11) - Paul Mawdsley and Dakota Melanson
Most Improved Student (Grade 12) - Brad Morrison
Most Dedicated Student (Grade 7) - Summer-Joy Upshaw
Most Dedicated Student (Grade 8) - David Quinn
Most Dedicated Student (Grade 9) - Lacey White
Most Dedicated Student (Grade 10) - Anthony Buckland
Most Dedicated Student (Grade 11) - Morgan Jennings
Most Dedicated Student (Grade 12) - Zoe Porter

Organizations: River Hebert District High

Geographic location: River Hebert

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page