London to host 2010 womens rugby World Cup, four years after Edmonton

The Canadian Press ~ The News
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

DUBLIN, Ireland The womens rugby World Cup is headed to England.

The International Rugby Board has announced that London will host the 2010 World Cup, four years after Edmonton staged the womens event.

The IRB, the world governing body for rugby, considered bids from England and Germany, but IRB official Bernard Lapasset said in a statement that in awarding it to England, the tournament would be best positioned to elevate the womens game to new heights.

The World Cup qualifying process will be announced by the end of the year, with qualifying expected to kick off in 2009.

The New Zealand Black Ferns won the 2006 womens World Cup, defeating England in the final of the 12-country tournament. The Canadians lost to France in the bronze-medal game.

The qualifying process for the womens Rugby World Cup Sevens 2009 in Dubai, meanwhile, is underway, with 11 of the 16 womens teams having already booked their spots in that tournament. The qualifying process will ultimately involve 83 national womens teams.

Organizations: International Rugby Board, New Zealand Black Ferns

Geographic location: England, London, Edmonton DUBLIN Ireland Germany France Dubai

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page