Warriors claim Bluenose title

Staff ~ The Record
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

SPRINGHILL - Jesse Gouchie scored on a penalty shot with 37 seconds to play to lift the Cumberland County Jungle Jim's Ramblers to a 6-5 win over the West Hants Warriors to win the peewee AA division at the 44th Annual Carter's Sports Cresting Bluenose Minor Hockey Tournament here Sunday.
Gouchie scored earlier in the game as the Ramblers battled back from a 4-2 deficit to take a 5-4 lead only to have West Hants tie it up with 5:01 to play.
Corey Hunter and Joel St. Peters each had a goal and an assist for the Ramblers while Brody Deegan and Joel McCrossin also scored. Chad Miller had two assists and Madison Colford and Doug Barton each had one assist.
Adam Ferguson and Ben Bujold each had two goals for West Hants with Anthony Corradini scoring once.
Following the final, the Jason Cormier Memorial Award for top defenceman was presented to Lucas Sangster of Cumberland while Evan MacKenzie and Carly Jackson of the Ramblers shared the Don Bishop Memorial as top goalies.
Adam Ferguson of West Hants clamed the Frank Matthews Memorial as most sportsmanlike and Jared Smith of Riverview won the Bradean's Tool & Die Ltd. Trophy for top scorer.
D&B Forestry donated the gold metals and Casey Concrete the silver medals.
The Shelburne Flames claimed the atom A championship with a 7-1 win over the host Cumberland County Amherst Toyota Cool Blues.
Jacob Symonds had three goals and two assists for Shelburne while Kayden Nickson had two goals and Tyson Smith and Farren Cunningham each scored once.
Chandler MacKinnon scored the lone Cumberland County goal.
The Cool Blues' Tyler Fougere-Amos was the Community Credit Union Trophy as most sportsmanlike player while Tanner Messenger of Shelburne was top defenceman, Jackie Nickerson of Shelburne was top scorer and Taran Atwood of Sheburne was top defenceman. They won trophies sponsored by Amherst Toyota, who also sponsored the silver medals. Springhill Foodland donated the gold medals.
The Strait Richmond Pirates captured the atom AA championship with a 7-0 win over the West Colchester Cobras.
Bryaden Murray and Craig Ryan each scored two goals for the Pirates while Stephen Fox, Avery Warner and Jordan Bissonette each scored once.
The Cumberland County Amherst Fire Department Ramblers picked up a win, a tie and a loss in the tourney but failed to qualify for the championship game.
The MacEachern Insurance Trophy was to defenceman was presented to Brendon McCallum of Cumberland while John Nuttall Memorial Trophy as top scorer was presented to Craig Ryan of Srait-Richmond with Logan DeCoste of the Pirates winning the D.R. Polley Trophy as top goalie.
Justin Ferguson of West Colchester won the Harrison's Blueberries Trophy as most sportsmanlike player. Gold medals were donated by the Eddy Group and silver medals by Jim Hatheway Ford.

Organizations: Cumberland County Jungle Jim, Tool & Die, Community Credit Union Trophy Amherst Fire Department Ramblers MacEachern Insurance Trophy Harrison's Eddy Group

Geographic location: Shelburne, Cumberland County, Colchester

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page