Trestman, Miller and Bellefeuille finalists for CFLs coach of the year honour

The Canadian Press ~ The News
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

TORONTO - Marcel Bellefeuille was recognized Thursday for leading the Hamilton Tiger-Cats to their first home playoff game in eight years, being named as one of three finalists for the CFL's coach of the year award.
Joining him are Marc Trestman of the Grey Cup champion Montreal Alouettes, and Ken Miller, who guided the Saskatchewan Roughriders to the West Division title. Greg Marshall was the last Hamilton coach to win the Annis Stukus Trophy, claiming it six years ago.
"It's an honour to be nominated with those other two coaches, who both had outstanding football seasons," Bellefeuille said. "And it's an honour for our organization and our entire coaching staff to be recognized for the hard work we did last season."
Bellefeuille led the resurgent Ticats to a 9-9 record and second-place finish in the East Division in his first full season as the club's head coach. That was good enough to return Hamilton to the CFL playoffs for the first time since 2004 and secure the franchise its first post-season playoff contest since 2001.
"I always had the faith that we'd be able to turn it around based on the fact that I felt like we had the right people - good people - in place to make that happen," Bellefeuille said. "I was really happy for the city, for everyone, and that we gave them something they could be proud of again."
But Bellefeuille is facing some stiff competition for the award.
Trestman led Montreal to a CFL-best 15-3 record and a second straight Grey Cup appearance. The Alouettes claimed the league championship with a 28-27 victory over the Roughriders.
The Riders finished atop the West Division standings under Miller with a 10-7-1 record. He guided Saskatchewan to its second Grey Cup appearance in three seasons and was the club's offensive co-ordinator when it captured the CFL championship in 2007.
So, who would Bellefeuille choose if he was a betting man?
"I don't handicap them at all," he said with a chuckle. "I have great admiration for the other two coaches.
"I think you could give it to any of the three of us and it would be a good selection."
The winner of the award will be announced March 5 in Edmonton.

Organizations: CFLs, West Division, Hamilton Tiger-Cats East Division

Geographic location: TORONTO, Montreal, Saskatchewan Edmonton

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page