Upshaw, Quinn top senior athletes at RHDH

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Belliveau, Creese top junior athletes

River Hebert District High recently presented awards to its top student athletes. Winning memorial awards were: (front, from left) Morgan Brine, Daniel Buboire, David Quinn, Mitchell Fagan, (back, from left) Summer-Joy Upshaw, Megan McLellan, Kurtis Langille, Tamara McKinnon, Jacqlyn McIver and Zachary Creese.

RIVER HEBERT – One of the most prolific scorers to ever play soccer at River Hebert District High was honoured as the school’s senior male athlete of the year at its closing banquet at the Brookside Curling Club.

Quinn, who scored 118 goals during his high school career, also played table tennis, curled and competed in track and field.

Summer-Joy Upshaw, who starred in table tennis and softball, was selected the senior female athlete-of-the year.

Zachary Creese won junior male athlete-of-the year honours and Sally Belliveau was the top junior female athlete-of-the-year.

Brandon McLellan was named the senior high student of the year with Brandon Wry winning the junior high student of the year.

On the junior boy’s soccer team, top rookie was Jarrett Burbine, Brandon Wry was most sportsmanlike, Mitchell Fagan was most improved player and Zachary Creese was most valuable player.

Sarah Beardsley was most sportsmanlike player on the junior girl’s soccer team with Joanne Buboire and Sally Belliveau sharing the most improved player award and Emily Hoeg being selected MVP.

Adrianna Michels was the most improved player and Amanda Mollon the most valuable player on the senior girl’s soccer team.

Connor Hurley was the top defensive player, Lane Glennie the top offensive player, Daniel Buboire the most sportsmanlike player and the coaches award went to Kirkland Doncaster on the senior boy’s soccer team. Taylor Brundage was most improved player and David Quinn and Brandon McLellan were co-MVPs.

On the junior girl’s basketball team, Sarah Beardsley was top rookie, Emily Hoeg was most sportsmanlike and Melanie McKinnon the most valuable player.

In junior boy’s basketball, Brandon Wry was most sportsmanlike player, Daniel McLellan was most improved and the MVP was Zachary Creese.

Bradley Belliveau was top individual player in badminton and Sarah Beardsley and Tamara McKinnon were named the top doubles team.

Summer-Joy Upshaw was the top female player in table tennis and David Quinn the top male player.

In track and field, the top female athlete was Sally Belliveau, top senior athlete was David Quinn, top junior-intermediate athlete was Lane Glennie and most dedicated was Bradley Belliveau.

Austin Hicks was the top batter in boy’s softball, Zachary Creese the top defensive player and Daniel Buboire the most improved player. Cassidy Glennie was the most sportsmanlike player on the girl’s softball team, Morgan Lucci-Vance the most improved and Summer-Joy Upshaw the most dedicated.

Other award winners were:

Junior High Citizenship: Bradley Belliveau

Senior High Citizenship: David Quinn and Cassidy Glennie

Student Volunteer Award: Brandon McLellan and Nicholas Gower

Most Improved Students: John Reid (Grade 7), Tamara McKinnon (Grade 8), Tyrell Poplar (Grade 9), Brandon Dwyer and Jordan O’Brien (Grade 10), Adriana MacIntosh (Grade 11) and Amanda Mollon (Grade 12).

Most Dedicated Students: Sarah Beardsley (Grade 7), Andrew Gower (Grade 8), Brandon Wry (Grade 9), Avery Beaton (Grade 10), Jacqlyn McIver (Grade 11) and Kirkland Doncaster (Grade 12).

Joggins Fossil Cliffs Excellence Award: Jacqlyn McIver

Jason Edwards Memorial Award: David Quinn

Patti Brown Memorial Award: Megan McLellan

Chris Dowe Memorial Award: Zachary Creese

Tanya Proctor Memorial Award: Tamara McKinnon

Marie LeBlanc-Damery Memorial Award: Avery Beaton

Betty LeBlanc Memorial Award: Morgan Brine

Bliss Terrio Memorial Award: Morgan Brine

Timmy O’Brien Memorial Award: Kurtis Langille

Barry Anderson Award: Daniel Buboire

Jim Morris Memorial Award: Mitchell Fagan

Cheryl Marie Rhodes Memorial Award: Summer-Joy Upshaw

NSSAF Good Sport Award: Daniel McLellan and Courtney Porter

Organizations: Brookside Curling Club

Geographic location: RIVER HEBERT

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Trudy Clinton
    June 19, 2013 - 15:41

    Although our school may be small, we have a lot of students with huge hearts! Each and every one of them deserve to be very proud of their accomplishments -- I know that the community is proud of them. Way to go RHDH!