Honouring the best

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Mac Hopkins Bowling League presents awards

The Mac Hopkins Men’s Bowling League presented its awards at its closing banquet. Members of the regular season championship GFS team are: (from left) Elton LeBlanc, Kevin Rushton, captain Jason Janes, Wayde Perry and Steve Butler. 

AMHERST – The Mac Hopkins Men’s Bowling League recently held its 67th closing banquet handing out several awards to participants.

GFS was honoured for winning the regular season championship, while Eastlink was second and Carter’s Sports Cresting was third.

Members of the winning GFS team included: Jason Janes, Kevin Rushton, Elton LeBlanc, Wayde Perry and Steve Buter, while the Eastlink team included: Rick Emslie, John Warner, Victor Burke, Wayne Hurley and Tom Cowles.

The Carter’s Sports Cresting team included: David Gautreau, John Brown, Paul St. Peter, Henry Gould and Vern Phinney.

The High Team Triple award went to the Atlantic Windows team including: Louis Oickle, Steve Blenkhorn, Mike Green, Kai Chan and John Black. They had a high triple score of 1,812.

The High Team Single award (677) went to GFS.

Individual award winners for the regular season included: Mike Embree (high average, 122.2), Kevin Rushton (high triple 433), Ian McLeod (high single 185), Mike Embree (high no mark 98) and Adam Richards (most improved 11.8).

In the playoffs, The Brick won the championship, Bradean’s Tool and Die was second and Weston Bakery was third.

Troy Richards, Tim LeBlanc, Corey Remington, Adam Richards and Kelly LeMont were members of The Brick; Roger Robichaud, Andrew Gilroy, Scott Mayne, Brandon Janes and John-Adam Smith were members of Bradeans Tool & Die and Mike Embree, John Weatherbee, Ron Porter, Harold Rushton and Greg Smith were members of Weston Bakery.

Bradeans Tool & Die had the high team triple at 1,811 and Bluewave Energy, with team members Carl Martin, Ron Martin, Jr. Black, Richard Stanley and Bob Gosse, had high team single with a score of 711.

Individual playoff award winners were: Mike Embree (high average 124.2), Roger Robichaud (high triple 431), Ron Martin (high single 202), Carl Martin (high no mark 97) and Victor Burke (most improved).

In addition to the 400 club, most honest, perfect attendance and wild card awards, a number of special presentations were made.

Arthur Martin was presented the Bobby Harrison Memorial Buddy Award, Mark Ripley received the Ron Tattrie Memorial Sportsmanship Award and Rick Emslie received the Gerry McCormick Memorial Most Dedicated Award.

John Brown received the Mac Hopkins Award, presented to an exceptional bowler who enjoys the game with teammates and most represents Mac.


Organizations: John Brown, Bowling League, The Brick Arthur Martin

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page