Orr presented league’s character award

Darrell Cole
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

‘It’s a huge honour’

Kody Orr of the Amherst CIBC Wood Gundy Ramblers is the recipient of this year's Maritime Junior A Hockey League Character Player Award.

AMHERST – Kody Orr is highly regarded as one of the Maritime Junior Hockey League’s top character players.

That recognition was honoured over the weekend when the veteran member of the Amherst CIBC Wood Gundy Ramblers was named the winner of the MHL Character Award for the 2012-13 hockey season.

“It’s a huge honour. I’ve been in the league for five years and that’s always the award that I’ve personally wanted to win,” Orr said. “That’s the type of guy I am. To hear the other coaches voted for me is a tremendous honour.”

The award highlights a player every team hates to play against, but would love to have in their lineup.

Orr said he believes in hard work and dedication. It’s something that has guided him throughout his hockey career and he’s honoured that his work ethic inspires others to follow.

The Lower Sackville native had 62 points in 52 games with the Ramblers during his five and final season with the club.

Ramblers’ coach Jim Bottomley said Orr is without question his club’s leader both on and off the ice.

“We’re proud of Kody for winning the award,” Bottomley said. “He gives nothing less than everything he has in every game, practice and whatever he does. His ‘team first’ attitude and hard nose style of play has been driving players on other teams crazy for five years.”

Orr was the only Rambler to receive recognition in the league awards. Mitch Maynard, who the Ramblers dealt to Summerside for Ben Berisha and Brock Morrison, was named MHL player of the year for his 21 goals and 49 assists.

Kevin Baillie and Jacob Riley of Summerside were the top goaltending duo and Morgan Messenger of Yarmouth was named rookie of the year.

Yarmouth’s Rodney Mahoney was named top defenceman and Zach Shannon of Woodstock, the rights for whom Amherst sent to the Slammers last year, was presented the MHL Community Leadership Award.

The first all-star team includes: Truro goalie Shane Campbell, Yarmouth defencemen Mahoney and Josh Desmond, Truro forward Kyle Morrison at left-wing, Summerside’s Danny Chiasson at centre and Dieppe’s Zach Cahill at right-wing.

The MHL Scholastic player award has yet to be named. The Maurice Bent builders award, coach of the year and executive of the year will be named at the draft in June.


Twitter: @ADNdarrell

Organizations: Maritime Junior Hockey League, Amherst CIBC Wood Gundy Ramblers

Geographic location: Summerside, Lower Sackville

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Donna
    March 18, 2013 - 00:24

    Congratulations Kody. Mom and dad are so very proud of you.