Five vying to be MP

Darrell Cole
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Nomination deadline passes with no additional applications


AMHERST - There will be five people in the running when people go to the polls to elect a member of Parliament for Cumberland-Colchester-Musquodoboit Valley.


The nomination deadline passed Monday without any additional candidates coming forward.

"We have five confirmed candidates in the riding and the returning officer has confirmed   there are no other applications pending," Elections Canada spokesperson Karen Janigan said.

Voters go to the polls on May 2 to participate in the 41st general election in Canadian history. Those in the running include Conservative Scott Armstrong, Jason Blanch of the Green Party, Liberal candidate Jim Burrows, Christian Heritage Party leader Jim Hnatiuk and Wendy Robinson of the New Democratic Party.


Organizations: Elections Canada, Green Party, New Democratic Party

Geographic location: AMHERST, Cumberland-Colchester-Musquodoboit Valley

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page