Cumberland North goes to the Liberals, Cumberland South to the Tories

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Bailie becomes opposition leader

Terry Farrell is the first Liberal MLA for Cumberland North since 1993, while Jamie Baillie held Cumberland South for the Conservatives.

Nova Scotia's NDP government suffered a crushing defeat at the polls on Tuesday.

AMHERST – Voters in Cumberland North were part of the Liberal tide that swept Nova Scotia, while their counterparts in Cumberland South elected the new leader of the opposition on Tuesday.

Terry Farrell became the first Liberal to win Cumberland North since the late Ross Bragg won the seat in 1993, picking up 2,944 votes en route to winning the riding that was held by the NDP after 2009 and was the former riding of longtime Tory cabinet minister Ernie Fage.

Judi Giroux of the Progressive Conservaties was second at 2,230, while incumbent Brian Skabar, who became the riding’s first ever NDP MLA four years ago, was third at 1,943.

Green Party candidate Jason Blanch placed fourth with 228 votes.

In Cumberland South, PC party leader Jamie Baillie overcame a strong challenge from Liberal candidate Kenny John Jackson to hold the seat he first won in a 2010 byelection.

Baillie took 3,653 votes, compared to Jackson’s 2,417. NDP candidate Larry Duchesne placed third with 872 votes, while Bruce McCulloch of the Green Party picked up 228 votes.

Provincially, the Liberals under Stephen McNeil took 33 seats to win a majority government, while Baillie’s Conservatives won 11 seats and the New Democrats, who swept to power in 2009, were swept from power winning just seven seats.

Among those to go down to defeat on Monday were Premier Darrell Dexter and several cabinet ministers.


Organizations: NDP, Green Party

Geographic location: Cumberland North, Cumberland South, Nova Scotia

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page