Tantramar IODE Chapter hosts annual meeting

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

On Feb. 3, members of the IODE Tantramar Chapter met at First Baptist Church in Amherst for their regular and annual meetings.

Prior to the opening via Prayer and Motto, dessert was served by hostesses Jean Henley and Sheila Pipes.

President Wanda St. Peter welcomed members and thanked Karen Wood, who presented Tantramar with a certificate of appreciation plaque from the hospital’s ladies auxiliary. Tantramar members have contributed more than 30 years to the annual Highland Fling.

Shirley Young, secretary, read the January minutes and Dot Arthurs, treasurer, presented the treasurer’s report.

It is with regret that we acknowledge the resignation of member Diana Crawshaw.

Timmy Howatt spoke regarding food bank purchases and Jean Henley spoke about Baby Think It Over purchases.

Shirley Oram, citizenship convenor, read an interesting article of Saskatchewan’s Olga, who at age 77 started her dream in track and field and was now at age 94 years. She holds 90 world records.

Thanks were expressed to Moreen Reed, who has faithfully served as head councilor for 20 years. She is our volunteer of the year. Congratulations Moreen.

On adjournment motion of the regular meeting, president Wanda St. Peter declared the opening of the annual meeting.

2013 annual minutes were waived.

Reports were presented by all officers and convenors with emphasis to services by Timmy Howatt; education by Jean Henley and Mary Trenholm, ways and means by Dodie Dickinson, treasurer by Dot Arthurs and secretary by Shirley Young. All reports were accepted by motion.

Ninety-seven-year-old Tantramar has had another great year. The awesome audited financial report only partially notes the work, volunteer hours and the impact our chapter gives to the town via education, food bank, VON, Autumn House, libraries, Thifty Things Shop and more. IODE members are dedicated women working for the benefit of our home area and Canada.

Gertrude Langille (known as Toot) was chairwoman for the installation of new executive members. Timmy Howatt reported from the nominating committee.

Wanda St. Peter remains as president, Dot Arthurs remains as treasurer, Dodie Dickinson is in charge of ways and means, Timmy Howatt is in charge of service, Mary Trenholm and Jean Henley are chairing education and Jean Harrison and Shirley Young are the secretaries.

Other convenors were named and installed.

Treva Hebb remains as the representative to the provincial executive committee and the annual provincial meeting will be held in April.

Dodie Dickinson circulated work schedules for Thrifty Things and Ruth Trenholm, hospitality convenor, presented her completed yearly list.

The next meeting will be Monday, March 3 at 7:30 p.m. at the First Baptist Church.

God Bless the Queen and Canada.

– Submitted by Shelia Pipes.

Organizations: First Baptist Church, Autumn House, Thifty Things Shop

Geographic location: Amherst, Saskatchewan, Canada

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page